The Question That Plagues Me.

I’ve always been told: grab their attention first. People tend not to read entire reports or articles, so put the good stuff at the front. Here it is:

I work harder than anyone I know, cliche, but it is true. Ask anyone who knows me and they will all tell you the same. I am an incredibly hard worker, l don’t know how I got to be this way, I am an employers dream and my own worst nightmare, because I do not stop. I care deeply about my job, whatever it is, I put in 110%, always. You can count on me, I’m reliable (I don’t get sick, like Dwight Schrute, I have a superb immune system), I love helping out and being the one you can count on in any situation. I’m smart, I’m creative, I love a challenge, I thrive on finding solutions to problems and I work extremely well with other people. Also, I’m not afraid to get up in front of a room of people and speak (proof: I once did a comedy routine in front of 350+ people for a talent show and I won). Basically, i’m the bomb and I guarantee I would be an asset at any company and you will love me. I just know it. Also, I’m hilarious (and modest… apparently).

Now that you know that about me, let’s segue-way into the other stuff.

This blog started out as something that was assigned to me in my third year and I really truly believed I would keep it going. I thought to myself “i’m going to write a post every day! They will all be interesting and I will develop a mass of followers who want to hear my opinions”. I should have been realistic and said “school is cray cray, so is work, I have no free time and I probably wont do what I said i’m going to do” but that would be admitting failure, so, I just went the optimistic route. Now, here we are, almost a year later since my last post and only a few short months away from graduating and I kid you not, I am asked the following, every. single. day: “what do you want to do once you graduate?“. Ugh. Please don’t ask me that.

Kill me now.

I feel confident in my ability to answer questions such as “What is the meaning of life?”, “How can we eradicate drugs?”, “What is the solution to the obesity epidemic?”, ask me what I want to do when I graduate and suddenly the crickets start.

The thing is, it’s not that I don’t know what I want to do when I graduate, it’s that, I don’t know what that job title would be. So, this is what I want to do:

  • I want to be creative
  • I want to find innovative ways to solve problems
  • I want to help companies build a brand identity
  • I want to help companies find the best ways to effectively reach their markets
  • I want to find new, more efficient ways of doing “old” or “routine” things
  • I want to work in an environment that encourages collaborative learning, creativity and innovation

Did you guys see the Audi ad that came out shortly after the Sochi Opening Ceremonies (Audi denies any involvement with this advert) Here it is…

Image

 

It’s hard to see but the ad says: “When four rings is all you need” love love love love love

I don’t know if this is real or not. In regards to the ethics behind it,  Audi was a sponsor of the Olympics so if it was them, it probably wasn’t the smartest move. However, lets say they had no association to the Olympics, in that case, this thing is BRILLIANT! When I saw this, I thought YES YES YES (a’la herbal essences commercial). I saw this and I got so excited, thinking “YES! this is what I want to do!”. Real time marketing people! Some brilliantly creative person thought of this, put it out there and it went viral and I love it. I want to be that person! I want to be the person who takes real life situations and uses them to promote my company (This takes an intelligent person because we all know that if you attempt it and it in no way relates the event to your brand, or you respond to something in a distasteful manner, the only viral effect you are going to get is that of complete failure). Another example of real time marketing; Oreo’s “you can still dunk in the dark” ad from Superbowl 2013. Who does this!? What is their job title? Is it a single person (if so, I want to be you) or is it the entire marketing team putting their creative minds together to come up with something this quick? Regardless, I like it, it reminds me of why I chose to get into marketing and makes me excited for my future career.

So, when people ask me the question “What do you want to do after you graduate?”, I respond with “what I would like to do is get in with a marketing agency and learn the different aspects of marketing while working with a variety of industries, then I can decide where I would like to specialize and then take steps to continue my education with courses focused in that area while continuing to work, so that in a few years I’ll be able to say ‘I want to do branding for consumer packaged goods’, or ‘I want to work in advertising’, or ‘I would like to do sales for X company/industry'”.

What I need to do is make myself stand apart from the 1000’s of other BBA graduates in Vancouver. How do I do this? With my blog! Obvi. This way I have an example of “my creative”.

The downside: this may backfire. I have pretty strong opinions, what if they aren’t in line with my employer and they choose not to hire me based on that? That would suck. I know I cant appeal to everyone, I’m just hoping that someone comes across here and thinks “hey, this girl is smart, she’s well spoken, she’s creative and I like her take on things”. So, that’s the goal here, this is going to become “my area” to talk about whatever I so please in an effort to showcase who I am. Also, sometimes I just need to rant about something and this seems like a good place to do it. I’m still undecided if I’m going to keep the name though.

Leave a Reply

