Let The Truth Be Known!

Perhaps, this is old news to you, as it is to me. I don’t care that it’s old news because it is hilarious, and hilarity never goes out of style. Following, is an example of the best way to reply to a customer concerns over social media, not like the whole Applebee’s debacle, which I will discuss in a few days time.

In early October of 2012 a disgruntled (I don’t know if customer is the appropriate term) male, left the following comment on the Facebook page of the feminine hygiene company, Bodyform… (this has been taken directly from Facebook, grammatical errors and all)

“Hi , as a man I must ask why you have lied to us for all these years . As a child I watched your advertisements with interest as to how at this wonderful time of the month that the female gets to enjoy so many things ,I felt a little jealous. I mean bike riding , rollercoasters, dancing, parachuting, why couldn’t I get to enjoy this time of joy and ‘blue water’ and wings !! Dam my penis!! Then I got a girlfriend, was so happy and couldn’t wait for this joyous adventurous time of the month to happen …..you lied !! There was no joy , no extreme sports , no blue water spilling over wings and no rocking soundtrack oh no no no. Instead I had to fight against every male urge I had to resist screaming wooaaahhhhh bodddyyyyyyfooorrrmmm bodyformed for youuuuuuu as my lady changed from the loving , gentle, normal skin coloured lady to the little girl from the exorcist with added venom and extra 360 degree head spin. Thanks for setting me up for a fall bodyform , you crafty bugger.”

and here, boys and girls, is a reply made from sprinkles and candy, dipped in gold and exuding all things awesome….

*BAM!* 1,000,000 points for Gryffindor! Just kidding, more like 1,000,000,000 points for Bodyform.

This may not be the best example of how to respond to an upset customer, but, I think it is safe to say that Richard Neill was neither a customer, or genuinely upset. However, their reply was appropriate given the context of the original comment and I feel that it was successful in other ways. As of current, the original Youtube posting has almost 4 million views. I think it is safe to say that this definitely got the “Bodyform” name out there.

This video was also effective in showing that the company does take the time to read their Facebook page and respond to customer concerns.

My favourite parts of the response were the drinking of the often used, blue water, and the CEO farting at the end because girls don’t do that. I think that they did a great job of making humour out of the typical stereo types associated with feminine hygiene and women in general.

Leave a Reply

